Agenda :: Community Radio

  • 1 August 2007, Jahanara Hall
    08.00 am – 09.30 am Registration
    09.30 am – 09.40 am Welcome note and Outlining the ObjectivesJocelyne Josiah, Communications Advisor, UNESCO, New Delhi
    09.40 am – 11.00 am Creating Conducive Environment

    Chair: Asha Swarup, Secretary, Ministry of Information and Broadcasting (MI&B), Government of India, New Delhi

    Moderator: Surekha Subarwal, Regional Communications Advisor (SA), UNDP, New DelhiArvind Kumar, Director (BP&L), Ministry of Information and Broadcasting (MI&B), Government of India, New Delhi

    D Singaravelu, Dy Wireless Adviser, WPC, Department of Telecommunications, MoCIT, Government of India, New Delhi

    Shankar N Goswami, CEO and Managing Director, Media Lab Asia, Ministry of Information and Communications Technology, Government of India, New Delhi

    R Sreedher, Director, Commonwealth Educational Media Centre for Asia (CEMCA), Commonwealth of Learning (COL), New Delhi

    R N Behura, Jt Director (IB), Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA), Government of India, New Delhi

    11.00 am – 11.30 am Tea/Coffee
    11.30 am – 01.00 pm International Community Radio Experiences

    Chair: Supriya Mukherji, Programme Communications Officer, UNICEF, New Delhi

    Revi Sterling, Researcher, ATLAS Institute, University of Colorado (Currently with Microsoft Research Labs, India)Sri Lanka: Dhanushi Senanayake, Practical Action, Colombo

    Nepal: Sudhamshu Dahal and Arul Aram

    Bangladesh: AHM Bazlur Rehman and Golam Nabi Jewel, BNNRC, Dhaka

    USA: Deborah J Winsten, Making Local Voices Count, Washington, DC

    Afghanistan: Raman Nanda, Broadcast Journalist, New Delhi

    01.00 pm – 02.00 pm Lunch and Poster Presentation*Poster Presenters

    Shailaja Suresh, Coordinator, KRDR, Everonn Systems India Limited, ChennaiNehul Jagdeesh Kumar, Journalist, Mumbai

    Veronica Peris, Independent Researcher, New Delhi

    Aditya Malaviya, Head, Writes Solutions, Journalist, Bhopal

    02.00 pm – 03.30 pm Interactive Demonstration Workshop on Low Cost Solutions for CRFacilitators: NOMAD India Network (Michelle Chawla) and UNESCO (Seema Nair and N Ramakrishnan)
    03.30 pm – 04.00 pm Tea/Coffee
    04.00 pm – 05.30 pm Campus Community Radio

    Chair: R Sreedher, Director, Common Wealth Educational Media Centre for Asia (CEMCA), Common Wealth of Learning (COL), New Delhi

    Saima Saeed, Lecturer, CCMG, Jamia Millia Islamia, New DelhiProf K Thangaraj, Kongu FM, Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu

    Dr S A Patil, Director, IARI, New Delhi

    Pankaj Athawale, Head FM Community Radio, University of Mumbai, Mumbai

    07.00 pm – 08.00 pm ICT Leaders Forum

    Chair: R Chandrashekhar, Additional Secretary (e-Governance), Ministry of Communication and Information Technology, Government of India

    2 August 2007, Jahanara Hall
    08.00 am – 09.30 am Registration
    09.30 am – 11.00 am Knowledge Sharing and Learning from Experience

    Prof Binod C Agrawal, Director, Taleem Foundation, Ahmedabad, Gujarat

    K Pichandi, Lead, Kalanjiam Community Radio, Dhan Foundation, Tamil NaduVenu Arora and Ramakrishnan, Directors of Projects, Ideosync Media Combine, Uttarakhand

    H O Srivastava, President, World Development Foundation, New Delhi

    Snehasis Sur, Sr Journalist, Doordarshan, (Hony Secretary, Centre for Media Research & Development Studies), Kolkata

    Ashish Bhatnagar, Broadcast Engineer, (Hony Secretary, Broadcast Engineering Society, India), All India Radio, New Delhi

    11.00 am – 11.30 am Tea/Coffee
    11.30 am – 01.00 pm Community Radios in Common Service Centres (CSC) and CMC: Community Ownership and Sustainability Questions – A Panel Discussion Lead

    Panellists:Co-Chair: Zohra Chatterji, Joint Secretary (Broadcasting), Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, Government of India, New DelhiCo-Chair: Aruna Sundararajan, CEO, CSC programme, IL&FS, New Delhi (Overview of the CSC and CR linkages)

    Resource Panellists:

    Supriya Mukherji, Programme Communications Officer, UNICEF, New Delhi

    Arun Verma, IL&FS, New Delhi

    Amol Goje, Director and CEO, VIIT, Pune

    Ashish Sen, Voices and Vice President, AMARC, Bangalore

    Parminder Jeet Singh, Executive Director, IT for Change, Bangalore

    Anwar Sadath, Director, Akshaya Project, Malappuram, Kerala

    01.00 pm – 02.00 pm Lunch
    02.00 pm – 02.45 pm Community Radio and MDGs: Knowledge Resources and Building a Community of Practice (CoP) and Sharing Best Practices

    Facilitator: Sajan Venniyoor, ICTD CoP Facilitator, Solutions Exchange, UNDP/UNESCO, New Delhi

    Revati Namjoshi and Danny Nagdev, Programme Coodinator and Sr System Administrator, Maharashtra Knowledge Corporation Limited, PuneBento D’souza, Radio Bee, Station Manager & Trainer for CR Internships, Ahmednagar

    Geeta Malhotra, Head (ICT Advocacy, Grassroots Communications and Capacity Building) One World South Asia, New Delhi

    Syed Kazi, Research Scholar, JNU, New Delhi

    02.45 pm – 03.30 pm Open House – Recommendations for Action
    03.30 pm – 04.30 pm Tea/Coffee
    04.30 pm – 05:30 pm Valedictory: Building Partnerships Among ICT4D Stakeholders

    Special Address: Dr William Dar, Director General, International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT), India

    Panelists:Subhash Kuntia, Joint Secretary, Deparment of School Education and Literacy, Ministry of Human Resources Development, Government of India

    Shantanu Consul, Administrator, Universal Service Obligation Fund (USOF), Department of Telecommunications, Ministry of Communications and IT, Government of India

    A K Agarwal, Joint Secretary, Department of Agriculture and Cooperation, Ministry of Agriculture, Government of India

    T R Raghunandan, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Panchayati Raj, Government of India



Leave a Reply

    • Video Conferencing Partner
    • Technology Partner
    • Silver Sponsors 1
    • Silver Sponsors 2
    • Platinum Sponsors
    • Learning Partner
    • Health Innovation Partner
    • Gold Sponsor 1
    • Gold Sponsor 2
    • Gold Sponsors 3
    • Enterprise Solution Partner
    • e-Governance Solution Partner
    • Associate Sponsors 1
    • Associate Sponsors 2
Address: Elets Technomedia Pvt Ltd., Stellar IT Park, 7A/7B, 5th floor, Annexe Building, C-25, Sector 62, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201301
Contact No: +91-120-4812600.